Honda Prelude Online banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Offtrack excursion expert
6,762 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know a Targa top has been talked about from time to time on the 'Lude and is pretty much thrown out because it throws the chassis out of wack.

But what about custom building T-Tops into the 'Lude? You could still have a center beam up top to have extra rigidity and get what you were looking for.

And obviously this would be an expensive venture, you don't need to tell me about that. :malken: I just want to know, from a structurally sound standpoint, is it feasible and would it affect performance enough to be a problem?

·
Premium Member
4,089 Posts
I'm sure that it'd be a little stronger than a targa....but I'm no expert in the design/structure of a car ;) I think that there would have to be a lot of planning involved in preparing it and to make sure that it would actually work....unless the shop just does it w/o thinkin of the result :rolleyes:

the way I see it, if it was originally made that way, or had another model prelude that was targa, then it'd be a simple job....but since it's never been done, it might be more damaging to the car than you'd think

·
6,762 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Exactly why if I actually do this at some point in time, I'd plan it out waaay ahead of the time and try and get some professional insight interms of chassis durability, flex, etc.

You know it'd be hot though. ;)

·
VTEC On Ice = BAD
741 Posts
For a show car it would be no problem, especially one that lives on a trailer.

For a daily driver though, be absolutely sure you get lots of input from professionals becuase you will be upsetting the handling of the chassis and who knows what would happen in the middle of a tight switchback at 60mph

Grover

·
1st to make the playoffs
2,744 Posts
here is the top pic but bigger (if imagestation is working right)