Honda Prelude Online banner

Rice or not??

3K views 9 replies 4 participants last post by  S-LudeDan 
#1 ·
Hey guys, it's my first time on any prelude forum. Anyways, I was wondering if my set up is rice or not. I want to learn how to tune cars and I really don't wanna be placed in the same category as ricers due to my minimal knowledge on cars. My set up runs with the following: 4-2-1 Megan racing headers (I know it's considered as a low budget brand), blackworks racing test pipe, and a cat back skunk2 megapower exhaust. Any thoughts are fine with me so don't worry about my feelings lol. I can handle the truth! I'm currently at work so I can't upload any videos. In my honest opinion the set up sounds fine. It has nice deep tone when accelerating and not that raspy noise. I also want to add that this set up is on the stock engine. I did notice the car pulls a lot harder during acceleration. I'm just confused because this is my first time installing aftermarket parts on my car. So what are your thoughts? Am I just being paranoid or is it pretty ricer?

#4 ·
That depends on what your goals are.

If you are looking for added performance, aftermarket intakes (or any bolt on parts for that matter) do little or nothing on an H22. If you want something to make your car sound cool when VTEC engages and dress up the engine bay a bit, then an aftermarket intake may be worth it for you.

#6 ·
If you are looking for noticeable hp gains, $750 won't get you very far with these cars. Not trying to rain on your parade, just being honest.

The best bang for your buck mod you can do is get a dyno tune from a reputable tuner, if there is one in your area. That will also require a chipped ECU or piggyback such as a vafc. Even then, the hardware and dyno time will likely exceed your budget.

#7 ·