Honda Prelude Online banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 29 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Yeah, I know this is OT, but what the hell.

Does anyone know what older model laptops are good (performance and reliability)? I just need something simple. Enough power to run W95/W98 with no lag problems. Perhaps something that's around 200 MHz, 32 MB RAM, a
few Gigs of HD space, and an active display. I was thinking along the lines of a Dell or Toshiba. I also need something that's durable.

I am thinking along the lines of EBay, but if any of you know of any other good sources, I am open to suggestions! Also, I am not in a hurry, but I will need something in a couple of months.

Thanks!

Don't worry, this is Prelude related....

------------------
Billy
North Texas Prelude Owners Group
www.ntpog.org

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by preludepower99:
this is my first time doing this.. "in before the lock"</font>

Don't worry it's Prelude related, but you will see later......

------------------
Billy
North Texas Prelude Owners Group
www.ntpog.org

·
Registered
588 Posts
Well dude, I'm recommend something at least 300mhz, 64mb ram, 4gb hd, display doesn't matter i suppose, i've got a Compaq Presario right here with 96mb ram, nice display, 6gb hd, K6-2 300, win me, complete with NIC, sound, modem for 500$ with carrying case

·
Registered
1,882 Posts
are you going to hook it up to your ecu??? Look for an old IBM laptop...i have 2 laying around..but you should be able to get 1 for around $100-200 (16 megs of ram, p1, 800 MB hd, good enough to run win95/98 no problems)

·
Premium Member
3,621 Posts
Dell, Sony, HP, DEC, and Compaq are all good choices for used notebooks. You want to buy a brand where parts are still available - especially replacement batteries. You will almost definitely need to replace the original battery as soon as you get it...