Honda Prelude Online banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
759 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been trying to follow this debate here and in the archives so I apologize in advance if anything I'm asking has already been answered.

(1) If your engine had somehow gotten some dirt in it when you had the head off or whatever would it be possible to see results similar to what you saw? Your bearings were worn in the order of their proximity to the oil pump and I've heard that in some cases that can affect the relative wear between bearings. Does anyone else know if this is true?

(2) I'm no mechanical engineer but I understand the idea of damping out excessive resonance. What I don't understand is why the amount of damping wouldn't be affected just as much by how tightly the accessory belts are pulling on the crankshaft as by having some extra mass on the end.

(3) For your bearings to be scored deeply enough to catch a fingernail, it seems that there would have to be some wear particles in your oil that were contributing; either dirt that had gotten into your engine or just bits of metal that had sheared off the bearing surfaces. Even if the bearing wear WAS caused purely by undamped resonances, do you think it could be detected by having oil analyses done? If so, maybe that would be an easier way to do a side by side comparison and get some more data about this issue (without taking engines apart).

Thanks...

G

·
Originally posted by crashandburn:
(1) If your engine had somehow gotten some dirt in it when you had the head off or whatever would it be possible to see results similar to what you saw? Your bearings were worn in the order of their proximity to the oil pump and I've heard that in some cases that can affect the relative wear between bearings. Does anyone else know if this is true?