Honda Prelude Online banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Well herro! Welcome to my write-up!

This is how to install power door locks into an S model. These are NOT pre-wired for power locks. First I will start by saying I am not an electrician. I am not responsible for any dead batteries, car fires, etc. I am currently TESTING this one my car. So far it’s all working properly. With that said, let’s get started.

NOTE: I will post a wiring diagram at the end of this write-up incase you guys have problems.

TIME: Varies. I had to do this over the course of a couple days. It will take at the very least 1 day to gather parts and everything.
DIFFICULTY:***

STEP 1: GATHER PARTS

Go to the junk yard and get:
1.) Door wiring harnesses, pass and driver
2.) Door lock actuators
3.) Switches
4.) Door lock control unit (located in driver’s door)

You will also need:
1.) Extra wire
2.) Wire cutters
3.) Electrical connectors
4.) Tape
5.) Chassis to ground connectors
6.) Fuse
7.) Coat hanger (optional)
8.) Zip ties!
9.) Basic Tools (duh)

STEP 2: REMOVE PARTS FROM ALL DOORS

If you went to a yard that already removes the parts for you, you might be unfamiliar. However, if you do this yourself you start by removing the door panel. 4 screws and the bezel for the window switches. Unplug all the wiring from the doors. Next, you will need to unplug 2 brown plugs on each side of the car. The passenger ones are in the harness above the pass. side kick panel. The driver’s ones are a bit harder to find. To find this, follow the wiring from the door into the chassis. It will end up being far up in the dash if it has never been unplugged. There’s a large one and a small one on both sides. Cut the wires AFTER the plugs. You want to use these plugs! Our S models will only have the bigger of the two.

NOTE: It may help to remove the top fender bolts from the chassis to reach the rubber grommets. It made things much easier for me.