Honda Prelude Online banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the Prelude scene, as a previous Accord/Civic owner, this completes the conventional Honda coupe scene for me(I don't really take the S2k or the Del Sol into consideration, and I've done enough work on CRX's to have might as well owned one). Picked my 98 up on Thursday after test-driving an 03 Civic Si, and I'm delighted I went with the older Prelude. So much more balls than the Si ever dreamt of.

I've been looking around to do some minor mods(exhaust, intake, ignition, etc) and so far almost every exhaust I'm seeing is for the base model. Is there any way to make the base exhausts work on my SH?

It's a hard topic to search on, so forgive me if this has already been covered- I did find this topic but with no links or photos for what exactly I'm looking for, I'm lost. Intake should bolt up the same for a base or an SH though, right?

·
Registered
171 Posts
the intake is the same for the base and sh models but there is a difference in the header and exhaust. i dont think there's too much of a difference though, just the length of either part. i believe it's something about the header being too short and the exhaust being too long or something like that but don't quote me on it. can someone verify this?

·
Granny Shifter
247 Posts
The difference between a base exhaust and an sh is about 3-4". I am in the opposite boat. I had an exhaust from an sh and needed this piece to make it work:

As the SH b-pipe is about 4" shorter.
So to make the base exhaust work on an SH, you will need to shorten the B-pipe by roughly 4".

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
The difference between a base exhaust and an sh is about 3-4". I am in the opposite boat. I had an exhaust from an sh and needed this piece to make it work:

As the SH b-pipe is about 4" shorter.
So to make the base exhaust work on an SH, you will need to shorten the B-pipe by roughly 4".