Honda Prelude Online banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone, I just bought a 1999 prelude, white, 5 speed, and love it. I have a few questions that im sure have been asked a million times, so ill apologize now, but i couldnt find much information when i did a search. Im not planning on doing too many mods, at least at this point, im a poor college student for 1 more year.
I do plan on buying an intake soon and have a few questions. First, can anyone convince me that the AEM is worth 3 times the cost of the CAIs on ebay? I had an intake on my last car and am mostly looking for the great sound it gave me, the extra HP is great, but if an AEM gets me 5 hp, and a cheap intake gets 3 i doubt ill shell out the extra 100 bucks. Also, has anyone seen or used the steel mesh filters, how do these compare to the k&n style both in performance and filtering?

Finally, i love the look of the reverse indiglo gauges, but believe it or not, i actually like the look of red or orange dash lights. Does anyone know if there are any companies that make white or silver face reverse indiglo gauges that light up orange, red, or both?

·
Official PO.com Fob
2,062 Posts
i've seen aem's go for as low as $100 brand new. personally, i wouldn't get a ebay intake...why? cuz i don't trust it. just look around the parts classified forums, or online shops, and you'll probably find someone trying to sell one. you don't wanna get those cheapy ebay ones...if u care for ur car, then get parts that are guranteed to work.

·
Registered
2,177 Posts
About the intakes bro i have had to 250 dollar one and i am currently using a Bomz CAI and tell u the truth the bomz intake seems like it pulls harder and it was only 60 or 70 bucks. Just my .02 and congrats on the car by the way youll love it:)

·
Registered
777 Posts
the only differences is the filter, not the pipes, at last i think