Honda Prelude Online banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello. As I have previously posted, I am very new to the car (import) scene. I would like to make a basic inquiry about torque. What exactly is it? I have been told it has something to do with lbs/ft or something like that. I would also like to know which modifications would improve torque. Also, how can you tell when in a car what feels like a lot of horsepower and what torque feels like. Any and all responses are more than greatly appreciated! Thank you all in advance!

Jim

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
SlntSam

Thank you very much! That website held almost all of the information i was seeking. However, it was a bit technical. Anybody else have any more information they are willing to share? Thank you all!

Jim

·
Registered
9,437 Posts
here's my oversimplified answer:

torque is how good your car accelerates, horsepower is how fast your car can go...

------------------
<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by atlxchink:
BEECH! :D Your a corrupt mod I tell ya! :D ........You're my hero :D</font>

G

·
Not quite. HP is directly related to torque by the equation: hp = torque * rpm / 5252.

In a very simplified way, you can think of torque as low end power and hp as high end power (don't yell, I said simplified!).

If you have an engine that doesn't have strong torque, if you can turn it at a higher rpm, it will develop more power (assume torque stays constant). Now that you can turn the engine faster, lower the gear ratio (numerically raise the gear ratio) so that for a given speed, the engine is turning faster. That way, you are taking advantage of the hp available, but at a higher rpm.

http://www.g-speed.com/pbh/torque-and-hp.html

A little technical, but a good article.

------------------
Billy
North Texas Prelude Owners Group
www.ntpog.org

·
Registered
1,714 Posts