Honda Prelude Online banner
1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello. I am very new to the import-scene as i have just purchased a 1995 Prelude SI, with an AEM cold air intake. I was wondering if anybody on this board could explain to me exacly what the function of a header would be, as i have been doing research on what to add to my engine. Any information is sincerely appreciated, and I hope to hear from some of you. I thank you!!!

good-bye

·
Registered
4,185 Posts
WELCOME! Header just helps your engine breathe better. Id give you the dictionary meaning, but i dont have my dictionary. Intake, headers exhaustall help your engina take in more air and get rid of it better.

·
Premium Member
3,936 Posts
Welcome to the import scene!!!!!

Well, the header/exhaust manifold is a grouping of pipes which scavenge ur exhaust gases out from the engine into the downpipe and out thru the muffler/exhaust system.

What the after-mkt header does is to improve the flow of the exhaust gas as it exits the engine, therefore improving the overall flow of the engine and increasing power.

However, IMO b4 u modify ur header, u should look into getting a hi-flow exhaust system first, as the header will have lil effect if u retain ur stock/factory exhaust system.
Hope this helps!!! Also do a search on the FAQ section as I'm sure u'll have plenty of ideas/Q's about what to do w/ur car.

------------------
01' Base 5-Speed
AEM CAI, Neuspeed Frt.Bar, Neuspeed Sports & KYB AGX, Type-R Wing

Parts to be installed-
Apex V-AFC- anyone wanna help me out w/this one??

·
Registered
123 Posts
hello jim from CA

i'm not too good at this, but my intention is to introduce you to a basic explanation so maybe you'll understand it better, then someone else will come along in this thread and give you an indepth link and/or explanation.