Honda Prelude Online banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
10,400 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been thinking about building an inexpensive NAS so that I can have centralized storage of our data. Right now, nearly everything is on the desktop (photos, etc), but I find myself using the laptop in the living room quite often, so I have two Outlook files now (one on the desktop and one on the laptop), which is a PITA. I've set the network up so that I can access the desktop files from the laptop, but I like the enhanced (I believe) security that a NAS offers.

Am I misguided? Any suggestions on setup? I need at least 2TBs of storage, so I was thinking of using two 2TB HDDs in a mirror setup so that I have real time backup capability.

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated. :D

·
Offical Girl Hater.
5,892 Posts
I've been using a Synology NAS for the past 4 years. Mine is a little over kill, as I've got 4x 2tb drives in raid 5 (about 5.5tb usable).

Synology does make some 2 bay enclosures. They are rated extremely well.

Besides having a few faulty WD drives at the start, it has been up and flawless, and would highly recommend them. :bigthumb:

·
99 Base 5spd
376 Posts