Honda Prelude Online banner

1 - 20 of 70 Posts

·
Modding never ends!
2,492 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've decided to build a computer rather than just buying a Dell for the experience as well as the ability to upgrade easier in the future. I've ruled out Intel chips. Now you geeks out there (this is a compliment since I am a network admin which probably puts me in the same category by the nature of the job), help me pick out some decent parts to build on. I am looking for something that is a bit below top of the line so as not to spend too much.

I usually do a ton of research for things like this but I just don't have the time right now. I figure I can buy a computer with my tax return.

Mobo: Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe nForce 4 SLI Athlon 64(FX) Skt939
Asus A8N-SLI Premium nForce4 SLI Athlon 64(FX)/ Sempron/Athlon 64 X2 Skt939
Processor: AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ Processor Socket 939
Case and power: don't know what's good
Memory: 2GB 533mhz
video: 6800 or 7800
Sound: Audigy 2ZS

Decent parts?

·
I'm white
10,561 Posts
power supplies - most of them are pretty good.........i'm thinking with that you would need at least a 500 watt, and case wise.......i would look at thermaltake or antec

you might want to look into SATA harddrives

i would tell you to get the geforce 7800 but thats cause i'm biased towards nvidia

the sound blaster audiy actually takes alot of resources but that machine should be able to cope.......i don't think i'll ever actually buy another sound card seeing as i go directly into a home theater reciever digitally, but that should work for you (might be a lil overkill on small pc speakers)

i love asus products (have an older mobo a78nx or something like that)

glad you are getting a 939 socket (its highly upgradeable to the next level of 64 chips)

·
PO.Com's E-Pimpologist
3,352 Posts
^^ ya the 939 got at least another years worth of life in it before they chance to a 940 wasnt it?

·
12,807 Posts