Honda Prelude Online banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I am new to owning a Prelude. Mine is a SOHC 2.0L. I cannot locate the Automatic Tranny dipstick or filler tube. My tranny is shifting really hard and it revs super high into second before it actually shifts. I want to change/check the tranny fluid but i cannot locate were to do this at. Also this morning wile engine was cold it was sputtering for a minute and not running so hot under load. I changed the spark plug wires and plugs. Any help suggestions are appreciated.

Thanks!

·
Registered
481 Posts
I don't own an auto, but I've seen a few in the junkyards. If I remember correctly, the dipstick is located on the front of the transmission. Look in this area, circled in yellow in this pic...

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
yes i found it. It seems rather hard to check it while the engine is running underneath all this stuff. Any suggestions? How should i che3ck it? Most vehicles you check it while its running. please help....THANKS FOR THE REPLY!!

·
Registered
481 Posts
This is directly from the owner's manual. I don't have a scanner, so I'll have to type it out for you, lol.

The automatic transmission fluid level is checked (with the engine off and the car on level ground) using the dipstick in the right end of the transmission housing. Remove the dipstick and wipe it off.

(drawing showing location of the dipstick)

Insert the dipstick and remove it. The fluid level should be between the upper and lower marks.
If necessary, add fluid and recheck. Use only DEXRON or DEXRON II Automatic Transmission Fluid (A.T.F.) when adding or changing fluid.
After checking the fluid level, push the dipstick in securely.

AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION
FLUID CHANGE CAPACITY: 2.8l (2.5 Imp qt, 3.0 US qt)

Good luck with it.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·