Air/fuel gauge install - Honda Prelude Forum
Honda Prelude Forum Honda Prelude Forum Header Right
» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

» Log in
User Name:

Password:

Not a member yet?
Register Now!
Go Back   Honda Prelude Forum > Honda Prelude Discussion > General Prelude Discussion
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance Advertise

PreludeOnline.com is the premier Honda Prelude Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-16-2004, 11:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 11,229
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Air/fuel gauge install

While there are many theads discussing the installation of an autometer air/fuel gauge, none have pictures. This is on a 4th gen Si, but it should be pretty similar for other models. This will cover only the wiring, as the mounting of the gauge in a pod is pretty self explanitory.

You've got 3 wires. 1 is for power, 1 is for the signal from the O2 sensor or ECU, and the last is a ground.

The ground can be hooked up to any grounding point, I picked this bolt, and ground my oil pressure light here as well. You can see the blue connector on the left side of the screen. Yes I spelled ground wrong, no, I don't care.


The power has to be hooked up to any source of power that is always on when the car is on. I chose to use the cigarette lighter power wire. You can see here, the blue connector.

another angle, it's difficult to see here, but the white wire at the top/back of the connector.


Finally you have the signal wire. You can hook it up directly to the o2 sensor, but it's far easier to run the wiring to the ECU. You can see in this picture. It is circled at the point that it comes out of the harness that plugs into the ECU.


NOTE:Be careful when handling the ECU kickplate/cover. The edges are SHARP and do an excellent job of cutting through flesh.



cantdrive55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-17-2004, 12:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 762
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
good write up, Ryan
Scalifludesi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2004, 05:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 323
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I thought you need a wideband O2 sensor for watching the A/F ratio?
petrveit is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 06-20-2004, 11:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
Supporting Member
Offtrack excursion expert
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Jersey
Posts: 6,762
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally posted by petrveit
I thought you need a wideband O2 sensor for watching the A/F ratio?
I believe that just gives you a more accurate reading. Tapping an A/F guage directly into the stock O2 sensor will give you an accurate reading at WOT, but not while at partial throttle or idle.

Someone please correct me if I'm wrong.
__________________
Medium Scott
h22 bb6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2004, 01:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Potato Country
Posts: 3,908
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Re: Air/fuel gauge install

Quote:
Originally posted by cantdrive55
The edges are SHARP and do an excellent job of cutting through flesh.
I hate it when I bleed my own blood.
__________________
axion68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2004, 05:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Supporting Member
H22-Turbo 4WS Beast
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Off-Topic (and Charlotte, NC)
Posts: 1,384
iTrader: (3)
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
not being an ass or anything, but why did you not just hook your power and "Grond" to the ECU as well?
__________________
rayslude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2004, 05:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 11,229
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally posted by rayslude
not being an ass or anything, but why did you not just hook your power and "Grond" to the ECU as well?
Why run extra wiring if you don't have to?



cantdrive55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Honda Prelude Forum > Honda Prelude Discussion > General Prelude Discussion


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:17 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.