Honda Prelude Online banner

too much oil in engine

2K views 26 replies 7 participants last post by  4thGenReady2Go 
#1 ·
i checked my oil recently and i found that its over the top dot. i think its .5 litters above what its supposed to be. for the last two oil changes, i put in 5 liters. but i think im supposed to put just 4.5. ive been using 5 liters for about 6 months now. what would be the harm in having an extra .5 liters of mobil 1 sythetic oil in the engine? im due for a oil change so i will be changing the oil back to 4.5 liters.

#2 ·
litres or quarts? My H23 takes nearly 5 quarts every change, even though the helms says less, but that's just to the top dot. 1/2 a litre shouldn't be too bad, but generally an excess of oil in the engine increases the chance of blowing a seal from the extra fluid pressure (that right?) It should be alright to just add 4.5, start her up, let her idle, turn her off then top off though.

#7 · (Edited)
sorry guys, i meant 5 quarts. i use those mobil 1 bottles that come in quarts. so its been at 5 quarts for the past 6 months. i use to put 4.5 quarts but the mechanic put in 4.5 and it didnt top off. so he added the extra .5 of the bottle. but now that i check it. its above the top dot by i think 3 cms or something. so that would be ok for only 6 months? how would i know if i blew a seal or not?

ive been at 5 quarts for 6 months, so at this oil change, ill have to lower it to 4.5 quarts since thats what its supposed to be. is there a way to take out oil easily just until the oil change or the oil filter has to be removed?

i agree, i would rather run a little low too then a lot high. i would always it rather be a little off then a lot off.

#8 ·
i have seen cars that run too much oil break the crankshaft because the it can't cut threw the oil fast enough..

this was on a stock civic with over a quart high and a light weight flywheel, the moron was trying to show off and got what he deserved IMO..