Brake Lamp Problem - Honda Prelude Forum
Honda Prelude Forum Honda Prelude Forum Header Right
» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

» Log in
User Name:

Password:

Not a member yet?
Register Now!
Go Back   Honda Prelude Forum > Honda Prelude Discussion > Fourth Gen Prelude Discussion
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow Advertise

PreludeOnline.com is the premier Honda Prelude Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-11-2009, 12:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 5
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Brake Lamp Problem

ok guys so the other day i go to turn my car on and i notice the "brake lamp" light turns on, on my dash. Usually when that happends all i have to do is shut my car off and restart it.....So i go and do that and notice it shuts off....go to pull down my ebrake and noticed it turned back on. I go to check my brake fluids and its all full. All My break lights work.....what next? Can Anyone plz help me. Its really buggin me haha.
92prelude2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-11-2009, 01:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Brooklyn we go Hard
Posts: 22
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
time to go to the mechanic
4thGeNeRaTIoN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2009, 02:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
minilogoguy18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,803
iTrader: (3)
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Are you making sure that the BRAKE lights come on and not just the tail lights that turn on with the headlamps? The bulb is dual filament and it will activate that light when the brighter of the 2 for the brakes burn out even if the regular light still comes on. Get someone to stand behind the car with the headlights on and tap the brakes to see what happens. Don't go to a mechanic and pay money for a simple problem that can be fixed with such ease.
minilogoguy18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2009, 02:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Unregistered User
 
spin_r_g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 4,292
iTrader: (3)
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
What happened to your other account? Have you built your motor yet?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sonik_Fury View Post
whatever essay I just watched the new Fast and Furious so I know what I'm talking about.
spin_r_g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2009, 03:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
indylude18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Peyton who?
Posts: 2,780
iTrader: (4)
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
I don't know if it is the same for 4th gens, but I had this same problem with my 5th gen. It turns out that there is a float that reads the brake fluid level built into the cap on the brake fluid reservoir, and it was stuck. All I did was jiggle it around, put it back in, and no more brake light.
__________________


Bluetop H23a Vtec Swapped NHBP '99 Base
indylude18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2009, 06:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Supporting Member
PreludeOnline Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 558
iTrader: (3)
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
^This, or maybe the e-brake switch is bad.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by gatewayjoe View Post
ya the bolt got stuck and broke off he said it crossed thred and thays why they got a replacement engine so is there a why to fis it are do i need a new crank
Rodmunch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 07:07 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
red2010_2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 170
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The Brake Lights Do Work When I Go To Apply Them, And Yes I thnk it may be my ebrake thats when the light comes on........ How Do I Check That Float(indylude14)? and How do i check my ebrake switch Rodmuch?


Thanks for all your help guys!
__________________
red2010_2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 07:15 AM   #8 (permalink)
Supporting Member
Unregistered
 
G_Loc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Miami, Fl
Posts: 4,051
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The "brake lamp" light has nothing to do with the fluid level or ebrake. If you're 100% positive that all of your lights are working (double check the middle one with the interior cover off), then the load sensor is probably bad. Easy fix: take apart dash, remove "brake lamp" bulb, reassemble
__________________
LS2 > H22

458 RWHP / 422 ft/lbs RWTQ

Last edited by G_Loc; 10-12-2009 at 07:20 AM.
G_Loc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 07:23 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
indylude18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Peyton who?
Posts: 2,780
iTrader: (4)
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by G_Loc View Post
The "brake lamp" light has nothing to do with the fluid level or ebrake.
Must be different than 5th gen then....
__________________


Bluetop H23a Vtec Swapped NHBP '99 Base
indylude18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 09:55 AM   #10 (permalink)
Supporting Member
PreludeOnline Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 558
iTrader: (3)
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by G_Loc View Post
The "brake lamp" light has nothing to do with the fluid level or ebrake.
Hey my bad if I'm wrong. I just assumed it would be similar to the 5th gen, like Indy.

***EDIT***
I see where my mistake is...I just realized it's a "brake lamp" light, not a "brake" light. Does this dash "brake lamp" light come on when a brake light bulb is out and only then?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by gatewayjoe View Post
ya the bolt got stuck and broke off he said it crossed thred and thays why they got a replacement engine so is there a why to fis it are do i need a new crank

Last edited by Rodmunch; 10-12-2009 at 10:01 AM.
Rodmunch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 10:05 AM   #11 (permalink)
Supporting Member
Unregistered
 
G_Loc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Miami, Fl
Posts: 4,051
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yea this light has been the source of much confusion throughout the years

Only comes on when a bulb is blown
__________________
LS2 > H22

458 RWHP / 422 ft/lbs RWTQ
G_Loc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 04:33 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered User
 
red2010_2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 170
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
G Loc- Middle One?
__________________
red2010_2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2009, 08:59 AM   #13 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 5
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
All my lights work....whats my next check? Should I check my brakes then? Thats wat i would think it was.
92prelude2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2009, 09:09 AM   #14 (permalink)
Supporting Member
Unregistered
 
G_Loc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Miami, Fl
Posts: 4,051
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Did you double check the top-center light? There's 2 bulbs in there, so it may look like it is working but in reality one may be burnt out.

If they're all fine, the load sensor may be broken. I believe there's a test procedure for it in the Helms. It is integrated into one of the tail lights. If you don't want to deal with diagnosing it and just want to get rid of the light, just take apart your dash and pull the bulb for the 'brake lamp' warning.
__________________
LS2 > H22

458 RWHP / 422 ft/lbs RWTQ
G_Loc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 07:17 AM   #15 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 5
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Found Out The Second Bulb In My 3rd Break Light Was Burned Out! Thanks For All Your Help!
92prelude2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Honda Prelude Forum > Honda Prelude Discussion > Fourth Gen Prelude Discussion


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Very Strange Brake Problem..... luder94si General Prelude Discussion 1 09-03-2004 11:25 PM
Brake Lamp Light comes on, pretty often. mr. r00t Fourth Gen Prelude Discussion 12 08-09-2004 03:23 PM
brake lamp trudoggslude Fourth Gen Prelude Discussion 8 04-09-2003 02:58 PM
wierd brake light problem NoRice4U Fifth Gen Prelude Discussion 8 10-07-2002 12:37 AM
Brake problem Phuture21 Fifth Gen Prelude Discussion 1 03-19-2002 03:14 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:26 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1