Brake lamp light? - Honda Prelude Forum
Honda Prelude Forum Honda Prelude Forum Header Right
» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

» Log in
User Name:

Password:

Not a member yet?
Register Now!
Go Back   Honda Prelude Forum > Honda Prelude Discussion > Fourth Gen Prelude Discussion
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow Advertise

PreludeOnline.com is the premier Honda Prelude Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-09-2003, 07:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Florida, Fort Walton Beach
Posts: 2,177
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Brake lamp light?

My brake lamp light turns on everytime i hit the brake when i start my car and stays on. Its happned ever since i got the car and its getting pretty annoying. Anyone know why its going on or how i can get it to go away? I do have altezzas by the way.
__________________
-Lewis-

Si Prelude with H22 swap
i/e/hi-flow cat/clutch/motor mounts/thermo coolent mod
Fast&furiuslude is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-09-2003, 08:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
ANGER IS A GIFT!
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 4,300
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Have you checked all your bulbs?


Do you have a 3rd brake light? There are two bulbs in those so if it still lights up that might be why.
__________________
MR.CLIFFORD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2003, 09:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Maryland/DC
Posts: 419
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Re: Brake lamp light?

Quote:
Originally posted by Fast&furiuslude
My brake lamp light turns on everytime i hit the brake when i start my car and stays on. Its happned ever since i got the car and its getting pretty annoying. Anyone know why its going on or how i can get it to go away? I do have altezzas by the way.
I have that problem and I have learned to start the car without stepping on the brake. Works like a charm.
genlude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2003, 09:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Florida, Fort Walton Beach
Posts: 2,177
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Re: Re: Brake lamp light?

Quote:
Originally posted by genlude


I have that problem and I have learned to start the car without stepping on the brake. Works like a charm.
Ya but it comes on whenever i hit the brake.

Mr. Clifford what do u mean about 2 bulbs? Your saying the altezza might only need 2 but the stock 3 and ones not hooked up to a bulb and thats why?
__________________
-Lewis-

Si Prelude with H22 swap
i/e/hi-flow cat/clutch/motor mounts/thermo coolent mod
Fast&furiuslude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2003, 10:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
ANGER IS A GIFT!
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 4,300
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Re: Re: Re: Brake lamp light?

Quote:
Originally posted by Fast&furiuslude


Ya but it comes on whenever i hit the brake.

Mr. Clifford what do u mean about 2 bulbs? Your saying the altezza might only need 2 but the stock 3 and ones not hooked up to a bulb and thats why?

There is a 3rd brake light in the rear window if your car didn't come with a spoiler. My dash light was doing the same thing when one of those bulbs were burnt.


I don't think the Altezzas have anything to do with your problem. They use the same base as the stock tails. Only the housing is changed.

The dash light will "see" a current that runs through the bulbs. When one of the bulbs is burnt it disrupts the circtuit and sets off the dash light. Now when you are stepping on the brakes and the dash light comes on it would lead me to believe that one of your brake lights is the culprit.

Check all your a brake lights that come on when you press on the brakes. Your tail lights have two filaments. One for driving at night(when lights are on) and one when you step on the brakes. Have someone step on your brakes and check to see if one might be burnt out.
__________________
MR.CLIFFORD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2003, 12:39 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Florida, Fort Walton Beach
Posts: 2,177
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks for your input bro. I beleive mine came with a spoiler so does that mean i dont have the 3rd brake light?
__________________
-Lewis-

Si Prelude with H22 swap
i/e/hi-flow cat/clutch/motor mounts/thermo coolent mod
Fast&furiuslude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2003, 12:42 AM   #7 (permalink)
Supporting Member
The one and only.
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 11,244
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The light will also come on if you are low on fluid, might want to check that too.
__________________
Gone, but not forgotten...rest in peace Jon.
cantdrive55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2003, 01:30 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
brendon2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 4,320
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Mine always comes on because of a burnt out 3rd brake light bulb. I finally just decided to put my cali speedway card on the dash to block it.
__________________
-Brendon-
09 - Subaru Impreza STi
07 - Honda CBR 600RR
brendon2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2003, 09:40 AM   #9 (permalink)
ANGER IS A GIFT!
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 4,300
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally posted by Fast&furiuslude
Thanks for your input bro. I beleive mine came with a spoiler so does that mean i dont have the 3rd brake light?

If your car has a factory spoiler I'm not real sure if it has the third brake light. I know if your spoiler has an LED light then you won't have the 3rd window brake light. But I'm not positive about the Spoilers without LED.


Here is a picture of it.



I took this pic right after I added the LED spoiler. I didn't know what to do with the light so I cut out a honda emblem and stuck in there. Now you can't see it light up.
__________________
MR.CLIFFORD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2003, 11:01 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Florida, Fort Walton Beach
Posts: 2,177
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ya i dont have that kind of spoiler so i do have a 3rd light. Ill check that today, thanks.
__________________
-Lewis-

Si Prelude with H22 swap
i/e/hi-flow cat/clutch/motor mounts/thermo coolent mod
Fast&furiuslude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2003, 11:47 AM   #11 (permalink)
ANGER IS A GIFT!
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 4,300
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally posted by Fast&furiuslude
ya i dont have that kind of spoiler so i do have a 3rd light. Ill check that today, thanks.

The bulbs are pretty easy to get to. There is a cover over the bulbs. You don't have to remove the 2 - 10mm bolts to get the bulbs out. Although it would be easier.

I'm sorry I don't remember the bulb size.
__________________
MR.CLIFFORD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2003, 08:36 PM   #12 (permalink)
Supporting Member
Buttering up the muffin
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Brooklyn, NY USA
Posts: 965
iTrader: (1)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally posted by brendon2k
Mine always comes on because of a burnt out 3rd brake light bulb. I finally just decided to put my cali speedway card on the dash to block it.
I'm I the only one who does not have that problem? I completely removed my 3rd brake light assembly and bulbs and I don't get brake light warning light.
__________________

Jake
94SI
Phamine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2003, 08:40 PM   #13 (permalink)
New Boeing Engineer
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 1,027
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The CHMSL (the brake light in the roof) is not monitered by the burn-out circuit. I removed mine when I got my spoiler and no light. The problem with yours does sound like one of the bulbs in the altezzas has a blown filiment. It might also be a higher wattage bulb and that would cause the light too.
__________________
Jason
Zimmlude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2003, 08:44 PM   #14 (permalink)
ANGER IS A GIFT!
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 4,300
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally posted by Zimmlude
The CHMSL (the brake light in the roof) is not monitered by the burn-out circuit. I removed mine when I got my spoiler and no light. The problem with yours does sound like one of the bulbs in the altezzas has a blown filiment. It might also be a higher wattage bulb and that would cause the light too.

If I take the bulbs out of my 3rd brake light the dash light still comes on. I had to bypass the circuit with a resistor to get it right.
__________________
MR.CLIFFORD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2003, 08:48 PM   #15 (permalink)
New Boeing Engineer
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 1,027
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
maybe something different between 94-96 and 92/93's? All I know is my light isn't on.

As a side note, I ended up getting the roof trim off a VTEC so no light at all
__________________
Jason
Zimmlude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2003, 09:01 PM   #16 (permalink)
ANGER IS A GIFT!
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 4,300
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally posted by Zimmlude
maybe something different between 94-96 and 92/93's? All I know is my light isn't on.

As a side note, I ended up getting the roof trim off a VTEC so no light at all



I've been looking for that since I did the spoiler conversion almost 8 months ago.
__________________
MR.CLIFFORD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2003, 09:04 PM   #17 (permalink)
New Boeing Engineer
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 1,027
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I just broke down and got it from hondaautomotiveparts.com

I think it was around $80
__________________
Jason
Zimmlude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2003, 09:18 PM   #18 (permalink)
Z
Supporting Member
The One and Only Z
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Las Vegas,NV
Posts: 798
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Hey, i got the same problem with my lude...... i just figure to ignore it cause i checked all my bulbs (including third brake lamp) and all my fluids and its still on!
__________________
-Z-

93 Prelude Si/VTEC 4WS [Status: Getting Ready]
JDM h22 Turbo Widebody Benz Conversion Lude
Quick Mod List: JDM H22 - Turbo - Widebody - Benz CLK Taillamps - Bi-Xenon Projectors in JDM Black Housing Headlamps
Quick Featured List: CES 2004: Redline Booth - SEMA 2004: Featured Vehicle for Lite Glow - CES 2005: Lite Glow Booth - SEMA 2005: Featured Vehicle for Digital Audio - CES 2006: Digital Audio Booth

Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2003, 09:21 PM   #19 (permalink)
ANGER IS A GIFT!
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 4,300
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally posted by Zimmlude
I just broke down and got it from hondaautomotiveparts.com

I think it was around $80

That really isn't that bad. I will check it out.
__________________
MR.CLIFFORD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2003, 05:46 PM   #20 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Florida, Fort Walton Beach
Posts: 2,177
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally posted by Z
Hey, i got the same problem with my lude...... i just figure to ignore it cause i checked all my bulbs (including third brake lamp) and all my fluids and its still on!
sucks huh i wish i could just unplug a wire or something so it doesnt come on.
__________________
-Lewis-

Si Prelude with H22 swap
i/e/hi-flow cat/clutch/motor mounts/thermo coolent mod
Fast&furiuslude is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Honda Prelude Forum > Honda Prelude Discussion > Fourth Gen Prelude Discussion


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:58 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1