Factory Honda CD player died! diagram on removal of stereo? - Honda Prelude Forum
Honda Prelude Forum Honda Prelude Forum Header Right
» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

» Log in
User Name:

Password:

Not a member yet?
Register Now!
Go Back   Honda Prelude Forum > Honda Prelude Discussion > Fifth Gen Prelude Discussion
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow Advertise

PreludeOnline.com is the premier Honda Prelude Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-09-2010, 12:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 17
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Factory Honda CD player died! diagram on removal of stereo?

so the oem cd player just died, it won't read cds! that was quick...it was odd, i put in a burned cd and it didn't play it, so i put back in an original cd that was working before, but now it doesnt work either..so i ordered a double din unit off the net, but i've searched all night last night, looking for a diagram on what plastic pieces to take off to get to the stereo. Is there any PDF files on this? or how hard is it? thanks
lexsynergy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-09-2010, 12:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Living on a Warmer Buoy
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: On a buoy in the ocean
Posts: 2,776
iTrader: (5)
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Installing an Aftermarket Head Unit (How-to with Pics)

__________________
Name: Jack-in-the-Box -|- Car: Meep-meep -|- 2001 EBP Type SH Gremlin Infested. Do Not Add Water. Seriously, DO NOT ADD WATER. RIP. To be replaced.
I do not need to explain anything to you.
My broken wings still strong enough to cross the ocean with.
My broken wings how far should I go drifting in the wind.

liquidxnitez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 12:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 17
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
looks easier than my 00 civic...
lexsynergy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 01:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Supporting Member
( o.O )
 
lilredlude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern AZ
Posts: 2,803
iTrader: (14)
Feedback Score: 14 reviews
its 100X easier than a civic
__________________
If you don't know what you want, you end up with a lot you don't.
lilredlude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 02:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 140
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
WAAY easier than in my old Del Sol. That required taking out the entire center console to get the peice that covers the radio out, to get to the mounting bolts for the head unit. Prelude? one peice
apocolipse269 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 02:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Kronn 98SH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 4,306
iTrader: (4)
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Use the Helms manual.
__________________
1988 Prelude S - victim of an 80mph backflip
1991 Prelude Si - sold
1989 Accord DX - impounded
1998 Prelude SH - totaled on 3/29/12, now being parted out
2006 S2000 (LBP) - purchased 6/16/12
2006 CRF150F - sold
2006 YZ250F - sold
Kronn 98SH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 02:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
indylude18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Peyton who?
Posts: 2,780
iTrader: (4)
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
If you are even the least bit mechanically inclined, it's not that tough to figure out. Take to cover off and unscrew everything. Buy the factory wiring harness adapter then just match wire colors with the radio to hook it up. Not hard.
__________________


Bluetop H23a Vtec Swapped NHBP '99 Base
indylude18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 05:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 17
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by indylude18 View Post
If you are even the least bit mechanically inclined, it's not that tough to figure out. Take to cover off and unscrew everything. Buy the factory wiring harness adapter then just match wire colors with the radio to hook it up. Not hard.
yeah, hopefully the past owners haven't butchered the wiring
lexsynergy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 06:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
TheJGB-2KTypeSH's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 507
iTrader: (6)
Feedback Score: 6 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by lexsynergy View Post
yeah, hopefully the past owners haven't butchered the wiring
X2
__________________
ASE Re-Certified Technician
Suspension and Steering (A4)
Brakes (A5)
Heating and Air Conditioning (A7)
Exhaust System Specialist (X1)
Automobile Parts Specialist (P2)
Automobile Service Consultant (C1)
TheJGB-2KTypeSH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 10:35 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 140
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheJGB-2KTypeSH View Post
X2
X3

I hope the guys who bought my del sol didnt want to change the head unit :P The cluster**** of wires behind it was almost unnavigable. lol i was 16 with a soldering iron, and some electrical tape, and the desire to put subs in the trunk :P
apocolipse269 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 10:42 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered User
 
indylude18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Peyton who?
Posts: 2,780
iTrader: (4)
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Since you are replacing a factory radio, I doubt hack-job wiring will be an issue. Even if it's not the original factory radio, there would be no reason for the PO to mess with any of the wires behind the radio to swap in another stock radio, it just plugs in.
__________________


Bluetop H23a Vtec Swapped NHBP '99 Base
indylude18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 10:51 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 140
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by indylude18 View Post
Since you are replacing a factory radio, I doubt hack-job wiring will be an issue. Even if it's not the original factory radio, there would be no reason for the PO to mess with any of the wires behind the radio to swap in another stock radio, it just plugs in.
True, however there might be some splicing if the previous owner had an amp+other speakers installed in the trunk which may have been removed prior to selling it. Though typically anyone wanting to put some subs + extras in would purchase a new head unit too.

I think though i'm going to see if i can do the awesomepossible. I'm thinking iPad in dash.....hmmmmmmmmm
apocolipse269 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 11:06 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered User
 
indylude18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Peyton who?
Posts: 2,780
iTrader: (4)
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Even if an amp was installed, there is really no reason for a hack-job on the radio wiring. Speaker wires possibly, but not the radio. It would be pretty obvious if the speaker wires were all re-routed for an amp anyways.

Long story short, swapping a stock radio to an aftermarket one is not that hard. Even if all the factory wiring is in a huge hacked up knot (it wouldn't be for a factory radio), it is not that difficult to run new wires...just time consuming.

Just get a touchscreen head unit and call it a day...
__________________


Bluetop H23a Vtec Swapped NHBP '99 Base

Last edited by indylude18; 02-09-2010 at 11:09 PM.
indylude18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 01:41 AM   #14 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 140
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by indylude18 View Post
Even if an amp was installed, there is really no reason for a hack-job on the radio wiring. Speaker wires possibly, but not the radio. It would be pretty obvious if the speaker wires were all re-routed for an amp anyways.

Long story short, swapping a stock radio to an aftermarket one is not that hard. Even if all the factory wiring is in a huge hacked up knot (it wouldn't be for a factory radio), it is not that difficult to run new wires...just time consuming.

Just get a touchscreen head unit and call it a day...
Heh exactly, with the iPad coming out soon i was thinking of covering the radio+cubby hole area with a custom peice, molded to hold/dock an iPad, build a miniPC to stick underneath the dash to run a VNC server that iPad can get to (for full use as a computer), otherwise movies+music all from iPad. And all touch screen! hmm i'm gonna have to do a writeup if i do this
apocolipse269 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 09:20 AM   #15 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 17
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
there was an amp in the car because i ripped out a 4gauge wire from the hood to the trunk, it looks like there was a stereo in the car before, so now i'm nervous about taking the oem stereo.. i did order a pioneer double din touch screen. should be here friday, hopefully install it this weekend if the weather is any better
lexsynergy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Honda Prelude Forum > Honda Prelude Discussion > Fifth Gen Prelude Discussion


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2001 Stereo Wiring Diagram Ferrd Car Entertainment and Security 2 07-31-2003 05:14 AM
factory foglights... wiring diagram? G_Loc Fourth Gen Prelude Discussion 22 01-29-2003 09:50 AM
diagram for front bumper removal GldCrzy Fifth Gen Prelude Discussion 3 07-03-2002 10:14 PM
Getting power to a Honda factory CD player? ickfoo Fifth Gen Prelude Discussion 2 09-20-2001 10:13 PM
Attn: oOOOOOo- need your diagram/help for front bumper removal! Spocko General Prelude Discussion 3 04-24-2001 03:09 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:08 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1