Pinouts on the stock sound system - Honda Prelude Forum
Honda Prelude Forum Honda Prelude Forum Header Right
» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

» Log in
User Name:

Password:

Not a member yet?
Register Now!
Go Back   Honda Prelude Forum > Other Discussion > Car Entertainment and Security
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow Advertise

PreludeOnline.com is the premier Honda Prelude Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-12-2005, 07:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Supporting Member
PreludeOnline Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Davis, CA
Posts: 619
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Pinouts on the stock sound system

I have the stock CD deck and optional tape deck in a '98 Prelude, and soon will be pulling the tape deck and to wire in PC and and auxilliary audio system. Helms is pretty vague on this. Does anyone know the pinouts for the tape deck-to-CD deck connections?
__________________
m610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-13-2005, 08:09 AM   #2 (permalink)
respect your cable man
 
apocalypse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Jersey/Texas
Posts: 3,620
iTrader: (-1)
Feedback Score: -1 reviews
I'd try contacting this company they make an adapter for nearly anything you would want
__________________
shoRt-scott!

RIP Guru
2008.5 Titan
1990 240sx
apocalypse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2005, 01:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Supporting Member
PreludeOnline Premium Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 12
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Round plug or square plug
Jhmbb617 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2005, 09:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Supporting Member
PreludeOnline Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Davis, CA
Posts: 619
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Round/square -- don't know. I haven't taken it out yet.

Didn't think of getting an adapter. Didn't Alpine make the stereos Honda put in their 98 Preludes?
__________________
m610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2005, 11:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Supporting Member
PreludeOnline Premium Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 12
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I tell you that because if it the square one i have to scan the pin out, but if it the round one
i alredy have it in my computer.
Jhmbb617 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2005, 12:16 AM   #6 (permalink)
Supporting Member
PreludeOnline Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Davis, CA
Posts: 619
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'll pull it this weekend to see what I have.

Thanks.
__________________
m610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2005, 08:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
Supporting Member
PreludeOnline Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Davis, CA
Posts: 619
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It turns out I need the pin-outs for the round DIN connector on the head unit. See the sketch below.



I figure it has inputs for the left and right audio and a control signal to tell the head unit to use the external audio source.
__________________
m610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2005, 09:33 PM   #8 (permalink)
MECP Cert'd Bish
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: looking down on the world
Posts: 5,821
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'm not sure why you still want to DIY it. But you can save yourself a lot of time by using the company Scott suggested or, THIS ONE. They both make aux adapters for hondas that plug into that port.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by ExodusFX View Post
It doesn't matter what kind of icecream you get in Mochi. Why? Because Mochi is icecream wrapped in awesome.
ExodusFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2005, 10:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
Supporting Member
PreludeOnline Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Davis, CA
Posts: 619
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'm not hooking it up to a CD deck. I'm hooking it up to a PC.
__________________
m610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2005, 11:47 PM   #10 (permalink)
Supporting Member
PreludeOnline Premium Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 12
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
[IMG]C:\Mes Documents\JF D\document\Auto\Electronic\Radio\Cd changer\radioplug cd cganger.gif[/IMG]
Jhmbb617 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2005, 11:50 PM   #11 (permalink)
Supporting Member
PreludeOnline Premium Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 12
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Sorry for that i make a mistake i can't upload picture!!!!
Jhmbb617 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2005, 12:28 AM   #12 (permalink)
Supporting Member
PreludeOnline Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Davis, CA
Posts: 619
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It looks like the url points to a file on your computer, not a web server.
__________________
m610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2005, 01:17 AM   #13 (permalink)
MECP Cert'd Bish
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: looking down on the world
Posts: 5,821
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by m610
I'm not hooking it up to a CD deck. I'm hooking it up to a PC.
Uhm, that's exactly what we're trying to help you do. You'd run a "stereo mini jack to rca" cable from the motherboard's line out/speaker jack, to the adapter, and into the factory head unit. Effectively outputting your sound from the PC via the factory audio system.

Maybe this will help more...

DIRECT LINK TO PURCHASE AN ADAPTER

I'm sure you can find cheaper prices than that site, but you get the idea of what to look for.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by ExodusFX View Post
It doesn't matter what kind of icecream you get in Mochi. Why? Because Mochi is icecream wrapped in awesome.

Last edited by ExodusFX; 03-20-2005 at 01:38 AM.
ExodusFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2005, 12:11 PM   #14 (permalink)
Supporting Member
PreludeOnline Premium Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 12
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I try to upload file to the tread but it always say that file is not the good type

jpeg
bmp
gif
tif
I try all of them and no one work
I dont no how to insert my picture

My pic show you the pin out of the plug located rear of the head unit!
I think i what you need because i do someting like you try to do
Jhmbb617 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2005, 07:29 PM   #15 (permalink)
Supporting Member
99 Base SS stock
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: midwest
Posts: 69
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Jhmbb617, email your picture to npaxton@iastate.edu and I can post it for you on my webspace. I dont care what format it is in, I can convert it to the proper one.
__________________
100% Stock 99 SS Base
heavyd1850 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2005, 08:48 PM   #16 (permalink)
Supporting Member
99 Base SS stock
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: midwest
Posts: 69
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Also, there are 2 adaptors made for 5th gen preludes (and many other Honda/Acuras) that will work. Both are made by PIE (www.pie.net). For ludes 98 and earlier, the model is HON-AUX, for ludes 99 and newer the model is HON98-AUX. They are little units that convert a RCA input to a DIN output which will plug in the back of the headunit.

Ebay has them for about 50 plus shipping. Crutchfield has them for 60 bucks.
__________________
100% Stock 99 SS Base
heavyd1850 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2005, 12:15 AM   #17 (permalink)
Supporting Member
PreludeOnline Premium Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 12
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
heavyd1850 Thanks check your email
Jhmbb617 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2005, 10:13 PM   #18 (permalink)
Supporting Member
99 Base SS stock
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: midwest
Posts: 69
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
pinout



courtesy of Jhmbb617
__________________
100% Stock 99 SS Base
heavyd1850 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Honda Prelude Forum > Other Discussion > Car Entertainment and Security


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:21 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1