Are you supposed to check your oil level while car is running or off? - Honda Prelude Forum
Honda Prelude Forum Honda Prelude Forum Header Right
» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

» Log in
User Name:

Password:

Not a member yet?
Register Now!
Go Back   Honda Prelude Forum > Honda Prelude Discussion > General Prelude Discussion
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow Advertise

PreludeOnline.com is the premier Honda Prelude Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-28-2003, 10:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,000
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Are you supposed to check your oil level while car is running or off?

I remember a long arse thread about this a while back but its not there anymore. How many quarts do u guys out in at oil change?
__________________

Scriber is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-28-2003, 10:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 1,018
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
almost 6 qts... car should be off and oil cold when you check it
__________________
--Jim
jimrawr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2003, 10:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: oklahoma city
Posts: 437
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
off. if your car is on it will give inconsistent readings (oil pressure will vary).
i thought u should warm your car up, that way the oil has cycled?
__________________
!
okieraver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2003, 10:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: CA, San Francisco, USA
Posts: 5,072
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
do it off
when i change my oil i do 5
its suppose to be 5.1 but blah
i change it about every 3k....
i have 4 qt when it comes out
BoYgUaN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2003, 11:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Supporting Member
PreludeOnline Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: SF Bay Area, Ca
Posts: 1,038
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yup, make sure the car is off. Just warm up the car a little first before you do it. I just check it at the gas station, or after I get home from somewhere, so the car's already warm.

And yeah, the full oil capacity is supposed to only be 5.1 or 5.2 quarts. I add about that much each oil change.
__________________
Black 2001 5-spd
I/H/Hi-flowCat/E/P/VAFC/DC Short Shifter
Eibach Prokit/KYB AGX/Neuspeed front strut brace/Tanabe rear strut brace/Suspension Techniques rear sway
Energy Suspension Motor Mount Inserts
axio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2003, 07:12 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: oklahoma city
Posts: 437
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
yah it says full capacity is 5.2 i think, but holy crap i have to add 5.5 otherwise it reads really low. i warm up my car and let it circulate through the new filter though.
__________________
!
okieraver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2003, 09:22 AM   #7 (permalink)
Supporting Member
Offtrack excursion expert
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Jersey
Posts: 6,774
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I thought you warmed the car up first, parked it somewhere on flat, level ground, then checked it while the car was off. At least, thats what I've always done.
__________________
Medium Scott
h22 bb6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2003, 12:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
Supporting Member
PreludeOnline Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: SF Bay Area, Ca
Posts: 1,038
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally posted by silverbullit2K1
I thought you warmed the car up first, parked it somewhere on flat, level ground, then checked it while the car was off. At least, thats what I've always done.
Yup, that's the way I do it too. I don't know why you'd wanna do it when the car is cold. Even the car's manual says to warm the car up first.
__________________
Black 2001 5-spd
I/H/Hi-flowCat/E/P/VAFC/DC Short Shifter
Eibach Prokit/KYB AGX/Neuspeed front strut brace/Tanabe rear strut brace/Suspension Techniques rear sway
Energy Suspension Motor Mount Inserts
axio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2003, 03:04 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,426
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
on another note, our dipstick sucks, I can never get a good reading off of it...anyway, is it supposed to be between the two dots when warm?
Hawks10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2003, 09:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
ME
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: So Cal
Posts: 1,073
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
On my 4G VTEC I've found the reading to be very inconsistent when the engine is warm. I always let the car sit overnight before checking the oil.
ME is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2003, 10:02 PM   #11 (permalink)
Supporting Member
Baller....
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: South Jersey, Trenton.
Posts: 565
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I noticed that sometimes when i change my oil it's almost 5.5 quarts til it reads full,and our dip sticks do suck. I change my oil on a lift at work and i let it drain for a while, and i never get all the oil that was in there out, odd but i guess some stays inside the motor. But the best way to change it is to let it warm up a bit then drain, that way the oil is warmed up and drains easier.
Pearl-lude99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2003, 10:55 AM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Nashue, NH =P Dont it bug ya?
Posts: 1,444
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Oil should be checked when car is off. Run car for at least 5 minutes before checking oil level too.
Ritteri is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Honda Prelude Forum > Honda Prelude Discussion > General Prelude Discussion


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:27 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1