newbie gear question - how fast can 1,2,3,4,5 gear go up to?? - Honda Prelude Forum
Honda Prelude Forum Honda Prelude Forum Header Right
» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

User Name:

Password:

Not a member yet?
Register Now!
Go Back   Honda Prelude Forum > Honda Prelude Discussion > General Prelude Discussion
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow Advertise

PreludeOnline.com is the premier Honda Prelude Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-07-2002, 12:46 AM   #1 (permalink)

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
newbie gear question - how fast can 1,2,3,4,5 gear go up to??

im a newbie about manual shifting
im wondering how fast can
first gear, 2nd gear, 3rd gear, 4th gear, 5th gear go up to?
like example ...1st gear 0-60KM/h...2nd gear 60-100KM..etc....
is there liek a range or what
is it diff in diff cars? i just want to know about the 5th gen preludes..

also does ppl always shift from 1st to 2nd at around 1500rpm? or can u go even higher? is there any difference?
why can't shift at 5000rpm so it hits VTEC?

i heard 2nd gear is like the work horse so i can vtec 2nd gear all the way?

Sorry for my newbieness
user604 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-07-2002, 01:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
Supporting Member
Semper Fi!

You can find the max speeds for each gear (redline) in the owners manual I believe. It's cold out and I'm not wearing much right now so I don't want to run out and look it up... sorry

I usually shift at different points depending on how I'm driving. If I'm racing I shift at redline for each gear. If I'm warming my car up after sitting overnight in the winter I usually shift at or below 3000 and often double clutch too (explained below). If I'm just driving normally I usually shift somewhere between 4500 and 5500. It all depends on how much acceleration I'm trying to get.