I can't break loose my crankshaft bolt no matter what I do! please help - Honda Prelude Forum
Honda Prelude Forum Honda Prelude Forum Header Right
» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

» Log in
User Name:

Password:

Not a member yet?
Register Now!
Go Back   Honda Prelude Forum > Honda Prelude Discussion > General Prelude Discussion
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow Advertise

PreludeOnline.com is the premier Honda Prelude Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-14-2002, 08:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 126
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I can't break loose my crankshaft bolt no matter what I do! please help

I'm trying to change my timing belt and I can't break loose my crankshaft bolt no matter what I do, I've spent at least 12 hours trying to lossen that bolt. I have the crankshaft pulley holder tool but I couldn't get it in at first, but after I lowered my engine a little I could get it in. I've heard of people using a 3 feet cheater bar, but the 5th gen really has no space to swing that bar without using a long extension. So that was the first thing I tried, using a 12" extension, and a 3 feet cheater bar, I tried to loosen the bolt by having two people push on the cheater bar, but the extension broke, so I had to give up using that method. I have sprayed a lot of WD-40 on the bolt and I even let it soak overnight, with no success. After spending hours trying to use various methods to get it to loose, I decided to get a compressor and an impact wrench and try again. the first impact wrench I got had a max torque of 380 ft. lb. I was so sure that that'd do the job. I went home, plugged in the compressor, let it fill up w/ air, adjust it to 100psi, and try to loosen the bolt using the impact wrench with no success. So I returned the impact wrench and got a more powerful 500 ft. lb. wrench and gave it another try, and again with no success. I then tried to use a torch to heat up the pulley and put dry ice on the bolt, hope to get the bolt to contract, with no success. My question is, how do you 5th gen people loosen the crankshaft pulley. I'm really tired now and I got all the parts lying around and can't get that damn bolt off. Please give suggestions!

Sorry for the long post but I've tried everything
__________________
'97 Flamenco Prelude SH

Last edited by preluder888; 07-14-2002 at 08:57 PM.
preluder888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-14-2002, 09:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: CT.
Posts: 910
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
the timing belt only needs to be changed every 90K. This is one job you should leave to the pros.

Sorry if this was of no help.
thewedge4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2002, 10:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: CA, San Francisco, USA
Posts: 5,072
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i think if you jak up the car on a lift the bar would work
BoYgUaN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2002, 11:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Philly / NYC
Posts: 1,388
iTrader: (1)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Use a good size breaker bar, an impact socket, and a hammer. Don't use any extensions, you'll only lose torque. And you'll need to jack your car up very high in order for you to use any type of cheater bars. Just get in there, torch the bolt up first then hammer away. Replace your crankshaft seal while you're doing the belt because the torch may cause the seal to blow.

BTW, how much did you get your crank pulley tool for? And from where? I need to order one.
__________________

-94 VTEC
-98 M3


Tola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2002, 11:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
brendon2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 4,320
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally posted by thewedge4
the timing belt only needs to be changed every 90K. This is one job you should leave to the pros.

Sorry if this was of no help.
This is not a job that needs to be left to the pro's but rather the mechanically inclined.

To break torque on mine I was able to get a breaker bar on it then I slid a 4 ft steal pipe over it so I was applying force about 4ft from the bolt. Leaned back with some force and it broke the torque.
__________________
-Brendon-
09 - Subaru Impreza STi
07 - Honda CBR 600RR
brendon2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2002, 12:13 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Potato Country
Posts: 3,915
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You might try to tighten it a little first, and then loosen it. Also, a torch and a hammer are good for getting tight bolts loose. try the hammer first and bang on the bolt. Then try the torch.
__________________
axion68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2002, 06:40 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Dallas/Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 9,099
iTrader: (14)
Feedback Score: 14 reviews
If you have the pulley tool and you can't get it off you are doing something wrong. It should only take a 1/2 or 3/4 breaker bar with maybe a 2 foot handle and your body weight to break it. Be sure you are rotating the breaker counter-clockwise (looking at the bolt). I use the crank tool wedged in the hole against the ground, I've broken torque that way with as little as an 18" breaker.
marcucci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2002, 09:47 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Toronto,Ontario,Canada
Posts: 608
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Are you turning it the proper direction?
__________________
Grant
95 Black SR

Chairperson, Toronto Prelude Club

check us out....
www.hondaprelude.to
Grant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2002, 10:11 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Dallas/Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 9,099
iTrader: (14)
Feedback Score: 14 reviews
Is there an echo in here?
marcucci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2002, 12:21 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 126
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yeah I turned it counter-clockwise. I even examined my new bolt to make sure i was indeed turning in the right direction. Well my mechanic said he's gonna help me try to loosen it this weekend, so hope everything will go well. Else I might just drill the hell outta it. Thanks for all the suggestions
__________________
'97 Flamenco Prelude SH
preluder888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2002, 01:52 PM   #11 (permalink)
jtown
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I hate getting stuck at stuff like this. tough.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2002, 02:17 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Calgary
Posts: 338
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
AAAAGH!!! don't drill it! just lift the car up high off the ground so you can get in there with the tools. if your car is on the ground I don't know how you would be able to do this..
__________________
1993 Prelude S / H22A w/JDM LSD

http://www.hondaprelude.com/setups/s...y.asp?id=14039
kevie88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2002, 02:20 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Utah
Posts: 79
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
One thing to say......Air tools and a 1/2 inch Impact Gun
Supercharged97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2002, 02:26 PM   #14 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 126
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally posted by Supercharged97
One thing to say......Air tools and a 1/2 inch Impact Gun
I've tried two different 1/2" impact wrenches, up to 500 ft. lb. I'm gonna have my mechanic try it this weekend.
__________________
'97 Flamenco Prelude SH
preluder888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Honda Prelude Forum > Honda Prelude Discussion > General Prelude Discussion


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:28 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1