How to replace and adjust Throttle Position Sensor (TPS) - Honda Prelude Forum
Honda Prelude Forum Honda Prelude Forum Header Right
» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
» Wheel & Tire Center

» Log in
User Name:

Password:

Not a member yet?
Register Now!
Go Back   Honda Prelude Forum > Honda Prelude Discussion > General Prelude Discussion
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow Advertise

PreludeOnline.com is the premier Honda Prelude Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-20-2008, 06:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Supporting Member
Menschkeit: True.
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 675
iTrader: (2)
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
How to replace and adjust Throttle Position Sensor (TPS)

Hey,

Know that there are already several threads on this, but I didn't find any of the directions clear enough for this very easy job.

Problem: I had terrible hesitation/stumbling/misfiring at low RPMs (<3200) and fuel economy sometimes as bad as 16mpg. Went through troubleshooting everything--ignition, spark, ECU, fuel, MAP sensor, etc. In short, check the TPS early since it's relatively easy to do so.

Tools: 12mm socket and driver, screwdrivers, multimeter
Parts: New TPS. I got an Omnipower TPS on eBay for $29.

How to Replace:
1. Remove throttle body - very straighforward, remove 3 12mm bolts and 2 12mm nuts, disconnect all vacuum lines, disconnect TPS and MAP plugs, disconnect intake. Once these are off, just lift the TB off the bolts/studs and turn it on its side. On the side facing the firewall, you'll see the TPS.

2. Remove TPS - on my 97 5g, there were 2 Torx screws holding on the TPS, so it was very easy to remove. For later models there are machine screws that you'll have to use a dremel to cut a slot in and remove with a flathead screwdriver.

3. Bolt on replacement TPS - Your new TPS should come with some hex replacement screws. Tighten these loosely so you can still turn the TPS.


How to Test:
1. Plug the TPS harness into the new TPS.
2. You'll see three wires exiting the cars wiring harness that you just plugged into the TPS. Take a paperclip, straighten out half of it, and shove it into where the middle wire exits the harness. You'll feel it when the paperclip touches metal.
3. Hook up your mulimeter test leads - nice if you have alligator clips, positive to the paperclip, negative to any ground in the engine bay. Set your multimeter to the 20V position.
4. Turn you ignition key to the Acc position. Do not turn on the car.
5. Go back and check your mulitmeter. You should be seeing something in the range of .5V give or take a few tenths.
6. Now adjust - first, turn the throttle by hand to the WOT position. While holding it there, turn the TPS until you get a reading of 4.5V. This is your target reading for WOT. Tighten down the screws. Let go of the throttle and let it go to full closed. You should see something around .5V. The specified range in the Honda manual is .5V closed and 4.5V WOT. There's been debate on this forum whether to set using WOT or closed. I went with WOT. Fortunately my values ended up being exactly .5V and 4.5V anyway.
7. Congrats! You're done. Just reinstall your throttle body. Be sure to double check you have all the vacuum lines in the right places.


Enjoy your new and perfectly calibrated TPS.
__________________
Check out my for sale thread.
devtec is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-21-2008, 10:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
BB6'n till R34'n
 
Solid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 4,955
iTrader: (6)
Feedback Score: 6 reviews
Very concise write up.

The biggest question I see is what to hook the multimeter to.
__________________

1985 Corolla GT-S | 1985 Trueno Sprinter | 1989 Skyline GT-R | 2001 Prelude | 2005 STi | 2008 Forester XT| 1991 M923A1
TruFactsRacing.com
Solid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 01:29 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
natemanas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 359
iTrader: (2)
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
this answered a question thats been plagueing me for months
__________________


I used to be different, Now I'm the same.
natemanas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 03:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: cape cod mass
Posts: 20
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
how long does it take to complete?
__________________
Real fun starts at 5200...
johnpreludebb6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 07:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Dog_of_War's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Currently NE Philly area, been all over the world
Posts: 132
iTrader: (7)
Feedback Score: 7 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnpreludebb6 View Post
how long does it take to complete?
you should be able to take your TB off in about 10 minutes or so,. this includes the time to open your car door, pull the hood release tab, prop up hood, remove intake, disconnect coolant hoses to FITV, disconnect the 2 sensors and unscrew 4 bolts holding the TB to the IM,.. give or take a few minutes for you to get the proper 12mm wrench

Just fixed my TPS today.. heck a matter of minutes ago.

honestly though,.. once you get it off and install the new TPS might take ya a bit to get to the wires and set up a volt meter,.. if you have someone help you it will be much easier to test,.. but easily doable by yourself,.. all in all,.. start to finish roughly 20-30 mins-ish.

Id make sure that you have a new TB gasket though,.. just depends how old/condition of the current one is.
__________________

-Aaron

Last edited by Dog_of_War; 10-25-2010 at 08:02 PM.
Dog_of_War is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 06:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
Supporting Member
PreludeOnline Premium Member
 
jimnissan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Muscat, Oman
Posts: 168
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
This is also a good wat test your original for proper function
jimnissan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 08:56 AM   #7 (permalink)
Supporting Member
PreludeOnline Premium Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Houston
Posts: 171
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
im curious to know what the pin out is

my plug was smashed while taking out the engine and i've since replaced the plug but forgot the note the pin outs.. :/

harness
l l l
Y R G
l l l
TPS
Prelude_92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 02:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
drummerboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 38
iTrader: (1)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Question:

I went to adjust my new sensor today. But the most I could get at closed was .2V, and at WOT, 3.6ish volts. What went wrong? It's better than when I started, but I don't have any more "slot" to adjust.

I'm out of ideas...
__________________

96 Prelude S Turbo - Blown motor 1/4/10
DOHC F20A Turbo - Blown motor 12/14/12
DOHC F20B Turbo/complete tuck in progress
drummerboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 01:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
Supporting Member
PreludeOnline Premium Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Houston
Posts: 171
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
it's a tedious task that requires alot of patience. small movements cause the tps to fluctuate alot
Prelude_92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 04:00 AM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 29
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
This is also a good wat test your original for proper function

huahuamick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2014, 10:52 AM   #11 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 2
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
just replaced my tps. mine says 4.3 for closed and 16.4 for open? i heard if it was backward my wiring is wrong, but its not backwards. it just goes up

any help?
jonnyshatter is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Honda Prelude Forum > Honda Prelude Discussion > General Prelude Discussion


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to: Raise your idle by porting the throttle body Daemione General Prelude Discussion 13 05-20-2004 08:18 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:56 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1